BWAD: How to be a Ninja Warrior Filter Fighter!

Blog Post: BWAD: How to be a Ninja Warrior Filter Fighter!

Life is not filtered. But the Internet is - at my school.
What are we teaching the kids?  How can we teach knowledge, discernment, and ethics without giving them a chance to make good choices and yes, sometimes mistakes.

Celebrate: Banned Websites Awareness Day
"AASL has designated October 3 as the second annual Banned Websites Awareness Day. To raise awareness of the overly restrictive blocking of legitimate, educational websites and academically useful social networking tools in schools and school libraries, AASL designates one day during Banned Books Week as Banned Websites Awareness Day. AASL asks school librarians and other educators to promote an awareness of how overly restrictive filtering affects student learning. The Freedom to Read Foundation and the ACLU are also supporters...."
from AASL, Sept. 25; FTRF Blog, Sept. 25

Complimentary BWAD (Banned Websites Awareness Day) Webinar
Join us! How to be a Ninja Warrior Filter Fighter! Presenter: Gwyneth Jones
Wednesday, October 3, 2012  |  7 p.m. EDT/6 p.m. CDT/5 p.m. MDT/4 p.m. PDT
Register Now!

 

Read the rest on The Daring Librarian Blog

Views: 120

Comment

You need to be a member of Library 2.0 to add comments!

Join Library 2.0

About

Follow #Library20

The Learning Revolution

© 2019   Created by Steve Hargadon.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service